Ein indischer Arzt schlägt Wurzeln in Deutschland

MOG success stories - An Indian doctor puts down roots in Germany

Mr. Shaik Mohammed is originally from India. There, he earned his bachelor's degree in human medicine from the Deccan College of Medical Sciences in Hyderabad in 2011. After graduation, he worked as a resident in internal medicine and emergency medicine for several years and even served as a lecturer at a medical university. Mr. Shaik Mohammed applied for his German Approbation, or professional license, in 2015.

He made it and is now working as an internal medicine resident in a hospital in Saxony-Anhalt. He is very happy with his new job. And to top it all off, he got married in Germany shortly before he was offered the job. Mr. Shaik Mohammed feels very comfortable with his family and his new residency position here.

1. Mr. Shaik Mohammed first of all congratulations on your new job and your private happiness. Why did you decide to come to Germany? What motivated you to leave your home country?

.

Mr. Mohammed: Germany has always been my first choice. It was a dream of mine to continue my residency here. Germany is world famous for its innovations, researches and new modern techniques in healthcare. That was one of the main reasons why I really wanted to work in Germany to perfect my medical knowledge.

2. Is medical education very different from German education? Or are there also similarities?

Mr. Mohammed: In India, we studied in English, so many Indian doctors also go to the US or the UK. Indian doctors do their job great, of course. There are no differences in medicine, after all. The only thing that is different is the facilities. In Germany, they are simply better equipped and more modern. And in India we hardly have any specialist positions, these are also much better covered here.

3. How would you describe your career in Germany then? Was it difficult to find a job here in the beginning?

.

Mr. Mohammed: I came to Germany at the beginning of 2014. As a third country, it was not so easy to get a foothold here and find a job. Of course, you have to master the language first and foremost. You have to be very motivated to learn German. I know some doctors from abroad who give up because they find the language too difficult. My advice: "Never give up!" Sure, it was difficult for me at first too, but you can do it if you just want to and don't give up.

Mr. Mohammed: I learned German in India up to level B1, B2 + C1 then in Germany. After a year of struggle, after many letters of application, I finally found a job in Siegen in October 2015. There I then worked for 15 months.

4. How did you then become aware of MOG?

Mr. Mohammed: I wanted to change my job. During my search, I came across MOG. Thanks to your help, I now have a job in another clinic in Saxony-Anhalt. Here I feel very comfortable. For this, I would like to thank the whole MOG team as well as my family, who has always supported me actively.

5. We are very pleased about that. I have one last question for you: there are more and more doctors from India or even from other countries who want to work in Germany. Do you have any tips for your colleagues from abroad?

.

Mr. Mohammed: Germany is always a good choice for doctors. Before coming to Germany, you should already plan a year to learn the language properly. There are many good institutes, such as the Goethe Institute. In my opinion it is also almost better to learn the Advanced language up to B2 or even C1 already in your home country. The start in Germany is then easier and it shows a lot of initiative at the German Embassy to get a visa.

.

Who wants to come to Germany, should not be deterred by the difficult language. Just don't give up and keep going! It will work!

Thank you very much, Mr. Shaik Mohammed, for your time and your interesting answers. We wish you all the best and much success for your professional and private path in Germany.

>> Back to Success Stories

CFA Apply now

Would you like to experience your own success story?

Our recruiters will inform you about suitable jobs without obligation, discreetly and free of charge.
Apply now in a few steps in MedicalTalentNetwork and find a job!

Webcontent-Anzeige Webcontent-Anzeige

MOG Erfolgsgeschichten – Ein indischer Arzt schlägt Wurzeln in Deutschland

Herr Shaik Mohammed stammt aus Indien. Dort erwarb er 2011 am Deccan College of Medical Sciences in Hyderabad seinen Bachelor in Humanmedizin. Nach seinem Studium hat er einige Jahre als Assistenzarzt in der Inneren Medizin und Notfallmedizin gearbeitet und war sogar an einer medizinischen Universität als Dozent tätig. Herr Shaik Mohammed hat seine Deutsche Approbation bzw. die Berufserlaubnis im Jahr 2015 beantragt.

Er hat es geschafft und arbeitet jetzt als Assistenzarzt für die Innere Medizin in einem Krankenhaus in Sachsen-Anhalt. Mit seiner neuen Stelle ist er sehr zufrieden. Und zu allem Glück hat er kurz vor seiner Stellenzusage in Deutschland geheiratet. Herr Shaik Mohammed fühlt sich mit seiner Familie und seiner neuen Assistenzarztstelle hier sehr wohl.

1. Herr Shaik Mohammed erst einmal herzlichen Glückwunsch zum neuen Job und ihrem privaten Glück. Warum haben Sie sich dazu entschieden, nach Deutschland zu kommen? Was hat Sie dazu motiviert, Ihr Heimatland zu verlassen?

Herr Mohammed: Deutschland war schon immer meine erste Wahl. Es war ein Traum von mir, meine Facharztausbildung hier fortzuführen. Deutschland ist weltberühmt für seine Innovationen, Forschungen und neuen, modernen Techniken im Gesundheitswesen. Das war einer der Hauptgründe, warum ich unbedingt in Deutschland arbeiten wollte, um meine medizinischen Kenntnisse zu perfektionieren.

2. Unterscheidet sich die medizinische Ausbildung stark von der deutschen Ausbildung? Oder gibt es auch Gemeinsamkeiten?

Herr Mohammed: In Indien haben wir auf Englisch studiert, deshalb gehen auch viele indische Ärzte in die USA oder das UK. Indische Ärzte machen ihren Job natürlich super. Unterschiede in der Medizin gibt es ja nicht. Das Einzige, das unterschiedlich ist, sind die Einrichtungen. Diese sind in Deutschland einfach besser ausgestattet und moderner. Und in Indien haben wir kaum Facharztstellen, diese sind hier auch viel besser abgedeckt.

3. Wie würden Sie denn Ihren Werdegang in Deutschland beschreiben? War es schwierig, anfangs hier eine Stelle zu finden?

Herr Mohammed: Ich bin Anfang 2014 nach Deutschland gekommen. Als Drittländer war es gar nicht so einfach, hier Fuß zu fassen und eine Stelle zu finden. Natürlich muss man zu allererst die Sprache beherrschen. Man muss sehr motiviert sein, Deutsch zu lernen. Ich kenne einige Ärzte aus dem Ausland, die aufgeben, da sie die Sprache zu schwer finden. Mein Rat: „Never give up!“ Klar war es auch für mich anfangs schwierig, aber man kann es schaffen, wenn man nur möchte und nicht aufgibt.

Herr Mohammed: Ich habe in Indien Deutsch bis zum Niveau B1, B2 + C1 dann in Deutschland gelernt. Nach einem Jahr Kampf, nach vielen Bewerbungsschreiben, habe ich endlich im Oktober 2015 eine Stelle in Siegen gefunden. Dort habe ich dann für 15 Monate gearbeitet.

4. Wie sind Sie dann auf MOG aufmerksam geworden?

Herr Mohammed: Ich wollte meine Stelle wechseln. Auf der Suche bin ich auf MOG gestoßen. Dank eurer Hilfe habe ich jetzt eine Stelle in einer anderen Klinik in Sachsen-Anhalt. Hier fühle ich mich sehr wohl. Dafür bedanke ich mich ganz herzlich beim ganzen MOG Team sowie bei meiner Familie, die mich immer tatkräftig unterstützt hat.

5. Das freut uns sehr. Eine letzte Frage habe ich noch an Sie: Es gibt immer mehr Ärzte aus Indien oder auch aus anderen Ländern, die in Deutschland arbeiten möchten. Haben Sie irgendwelche Tipps für Ihre Kollegen aus dem Ausland?

Herr Mohammed: Deutschland ist immer eine gute Wahl für Ärzte. Bevor man nach Deutschland kommt, sollte man schon ein Jahr einplanen, um die Sprache richtig zu lernen. Es gibt viele gute Institute, wie zum Beispiel das Goethe Institut. Meiner Meinung nach ist es auch fast besser, wenn man die Advanced Sprache bis B2 oder sogar C1 schon in seinem Heimatland lernt. Der Start in Deutschland fällt einem dann leichter und es zeigt viel Eigeninitiative bei der Deutschen Botschaft, um ein Visum zu bekommen.

Wer nach Deutschland kommen möchte, sollte sich nicht abschrecken lassen von der schwierigen Sprache. Einfach nicht aufgeben und weitermachen! Es wird klappen!

Vielen lieben Dank, Herr Shaik Mohammed, für Ihre Zeit und Ihre interessanten Antworten. Wir wünschen Ihnen alles Gute und viel Erfolg für ihren beruflichen und privaten Weg in Deutschland.

>> Zurück zur Erfolgsgeschichten